Who are ‘VIP’ electors & why they don’t get additional privileges | India News – Times of India

 Who are 'VIP' electors & why they don’t get additional privileges | India News - Times of India

The latest figures released by the Election Commission show that there are 30,372 “VIP” voters in the 14 constituencies to be held on April 26, a tiny fraction of the total of over 5.4 crore people registered to cast their votes. Pay attention to the part. Lok Sabha Elections.
But giving that “VIP” status — which is part of the Election Commission’s internal practice — doesn’t entitle those people to privileges you don’t enjoy. Polling stationsTOI gives you a rundown:
who are VIP Electors
Although there is no formal definition, Karnataka Chief Electoral Officer (CEO) Manoj Kumar Meena says: “These are distinguished electors who are engaged in service. These may include MLA, MP, IAS, IPS officers and others.
This category also includes other politicians like district panchayat presidents, former ministers and legislators, big celebrities, cultural icons etc.
No specific treatment.
However, these people do not get any special treatment compared to ordinary voters. “When they get to the polling stations they don’t get to skip the queues, they are given some other preferential treatment,” Main said. While another official added that the only thing EC does about them is to go the extra mile to ensure inclusion in the electoral roll.
Why was this done?
This is done to prevent embarrassment on polling day and to prevent any influence on other voters. “Unlike the general electorate, when prominent people are left off the rolls, it is made a big issue and statements on polling day by some of them who are naturally upset about not voting, are common. “This classification is done to prevent voters from questioning the integrity of the rolls,” the official said.
where are they
Data for VIP voters is available for the first 14 constituencies: Chitradurga, Udupi-Chikmagalur, Tumkur, Kolar, Hassan, Bangalore Rural, Bangalore North, Bangalore Central, Bangalore South, Chikbalapur, Mandya, Mysore, Dakshina Kannada and Chamarajnagar — Those who go here. Polling on April 26
Of these, the Bangalore sections – North (190), Central (232), South (265) – have the fewest, while most are from Dakshina Kannada (6,423).

India,India News,India news today.,Today’s news,Google News,Latest news,VIP Electors,Polling stations,Lok Sabha Elections,Karnataka,Election Commission

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.