Record 78 MPs suspended in 1 day, total for session now 92 | India News – Times of India

 Record 78 MPs suspended in 1 day, total for session now 92 | India News - Times of India

New Delhi: Parliament suspended 78 on Monday. Opposition Members of Parliament – From 45 Rajya Sabha And 33 from the Lok Sabha – for violating the rules of the House by displaying placards, entering a well and shouting slogans in breach of security on December 13.
Combining the two houses, it marked the highest single-day suspension and took the total number of suspended MPs in the current session to 92 (46 from each house), up from 14 last week for the same reason. After
77 out of 92 (43 from LS and 34 from RS) MLAs have been suspended for the rest of the winter session while 15 (12 from RS and 3 from LS) have been suspended pending the report of the Privileges Committee. .
‘Sovereignty,’ says oppn; No option left, says Dhankhar.
The meeting, which started on December 4, will conclude on Friday. Amid the uproar, the Rajya Sabha passed two bills on reservation of seats for Scheduled Tribes and women, as well as three seats in the Jammu and Kashmir Assembly for Kashmiri migrants and those displaced from Pakistan-occupied Jammu and Kashmir. Nomination of
Opposition parties attacked the government for the suspension, calling the move “dictatorial”. However, Rajya Sabha Chairman Jagdeep Dhankhar termed this action as correct. “I have no option when people stubbornly refuse to see reason, refuse to follow principles, and confine themselves to a shouting brigade, bringing shame to the entire institution of Parliament. It has to be done. It cannot be tolerated,” he said, announcing the adoption of the two. Separate motions were moved by Leader of the House Piyush Goyal for the suspension of 45 MPs.
Repeated adjournments were observed in both houses before it was finally adjourned for the day as opposition MPs disrupted the proceedings demanding a statement from Home Minister Amit Shah on the breach of Parliament security.
Although the NDA has a clear majority in the Lok Sabha, the suspension of 46 members of the Rajya Sabha (19 percent of the existing 239) means that the effective strength of the upper house is reduced to 193, leaving the government Get any bill for easy. approved if he decides to take it up for consideration in the remaining four days of the session.
Among the 30 members suspended from the Lok Sabha on Monday for the remainder of the session were Congress leader Adhir Ranjan Chaudhary, DMK MPs TR Balu and Dayandhi Maran. TMCSogata Rai is of opinion. Three Congress MPs – KJ Kumar, Vijay Vasant and Abdul Khaliq – who climbed the Speaker’s podium and shouted slogans, were suspended pending the report of the Privileges Committee.
The remaining 30 Lok Sabha MPs for the session included 10 from the DMK, nine from the Trinamool Congress, eight from the Congress and one each from the IUML, JD(U) and RSP. Last week, 13 opposition members were suspended from the Lok Sabha for the rest of the session and one (Derek O’Brien) was suspended from the Rajya Sabha. O’Brien’s case was referred to the Privileges Committee.
Among the 34 MPs suspended from the Rajya Sabha for the remainder of the session are Congress MPs Jayaram Ramesh, KC Venugopal and Randeep Singh Surjewala, TMC’s Sukhindu Shekhar Ray, DMK’s NR Elango, R Manoj Kumar Jha of JD and Ram Gopal Yadav of SP were present. 11 Suspended Members of Parliament Among those whose cases were referred to the privilege panel were six from the Congress, two each from the CPI and CPM and one from the DMK. The committee will review their cases within three months.
As the Lok Sabha session resumed at 3 pm after repeated adjournments, BJP member Rajendra Agarwal, who was in the chair, said members were violating the rules. He said that you have been repeatedly requested not to bring placards in the House. After that he named 33 members of the opposition. Parliamentary Affairs Minister Prahalad Joshi then read out a motion to suspend 30 members from the House for the rest of the session.
Joshi also moved a separate motion implicating the conduct of Jayakumar, Vasant and Khaliq in the Privileges Panel.
The suspension of 45 MPs from the upper house came into effect after Dhankhar refused to allow opposition leader Mallikarjan Kharge’s request to be allowed to speak when the house reconvened at 4.30 pm after four adjournments.
“How can I listen to the LOP who have written me two letters saying they will not see me in my chamber? This has never happened in a parliamentary democracy,” Dhankhar said, noting that opposition MPs Believe in disruption and disruption. Instead of discussion and debate.

India,India News,India news today.,Today’s news,Google News,Latest news,TMC,Suspended Members of Parliament,Laws and Authority,Rajya Sabha,Opposition Members of Parliament

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.