Raman Singh unanimously elected speaker of assembly in Chhattisgarh | Raipur News – Times of India

Raman Singh unanimously elected speaker of assembly in Chhattisgarh | Raipur News - Times of India

Raipur: Senior BJP leader and former Chief Minister Raman Singh was unanimously elected as the Speaker of the Assembly. Chhattisgarh Legislative Assembly During the first meeting of the newly elected 90-member Vidhan Sabha on Tuesday.
Chief Minister Vishnu Dev Sai moved the motion for Raman Singh’s election as Speaker which was seconded by other members. Earlier, the Assembly session began with Protem Speaker Ramvichar Neetam administering oath to the newly elected MLAs. Hua, including the Chief Minister and Deputy CMs
On the first day of the sixth assembly session of the newly elected MLAs, Protem Speaker Ramvichar Neetam administered the oath to newly elected MLAs of BJP and Congress, including senior members Chief Minister Vishnu Dev Sai, Raman Singh, Leader of Opposition Charan Das. Mahant, Deputy Chief Ministers Arun Sau and Vijay Sharma, and former Chief Minister Bhupesh Baghel, along with an MLA from the Gondwana Guntantra Party.
A few legislators took oath in Hindi, while others preferred Sanskrit and the Chhattisgarhi dialect.
After the MLAs were sworn in, Chief Minister Sai moved a motion to elect Raman Singh as Speaker, seconded by Deputy CM Saw. Leader of Opposition Mahant and three more BJP members moved in favor of Singh, senior Congress member Baghel and others gave their mandate. Later, Singh was accompanied by CM Sai and Congress leader Mahant to the Speaker’s chair.
After being elected as Speaker, Singh said, “I congratulate all the re-elected and first-time MLAs. I will perform my duties to the best of my ability. I thank all the members for unanimously electing me as Speaker. As an ordinary worker of BJP, I would like to thank our former Prime Minister Atal Bihari Vajpayee for giving birth to this state.
The 71-year-old Raman, while filing his nomination for the Speaker’s post on Sunday, said that it would be his new responsibility to bring everyone together in the Chhattisgarh Vidhan Sabha.
Chief Minister Sai said, “Everyone is aware of Singhji’s humility, who believes in taking everyone forward. Singhji has been both MLA and CM in this House and is well aware of the proceedings of the House. So, the assembly will definitely proceed properly. I have always had his support and guidance, which he will now share with the Assembly.
Congratulating him, Mahant, former speaker, said, “We have elected you unanimously, and the opposition has also supported you, which reflects our culture. It is not important that we are the opposition. I am the ruling party in the Assembly, but the spirit of harmony and harmony should prevail in the House. We know your nature. You are a good person, and we appreciate your dedication to Chhattisgarh as Chief Minister. Seen. Where you are sitting is my past and this is my present and the present always respects its past.
Former Chief Minister Bhupesh Baghel said, “Former Speaker Mahantji was known to do justice to the BJP MLAs in the opposition, who were barely 15. We are 35 MLAs, which is not less. And I hope you continue the equation.
Singh is a seven-time MLA, having won the Rajnandgaon seat consecutively in 2008, 2013, 2018 and 2023. He was a member of the Lok Sabha in 1999 and a Union Minister in Vajpayee’s cabinet. Singh won the 2023 assembly elections from the Rajnandgaon constituency by a margin of 45,084 votes.
After 15 years of BJP rule in the state, the Congress came to power in 2018, and the BJP returned with a huge majority, winning the 2023 elections with 54 seats, 35 seats to the Congress. And a Gondwana shrunk to the Guntantra party.

Raipur News,Raipur latest news,Raipur News Live,Raipur news today,Today’s news Raipur,Speaker of Chhattisgarh Assembly,Speaker of the Assembly,Politics of Chhattisgarh,Chhattisgarh Legislative Assembly,Speaker of Chhattisgarh Assembly

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.