In Himachal gamble, Congress fields 2 MLAs for Lok Sabha elections | India News – Times of India

 In Himachal gamble, Congress fields 2 MLAs for Lok Sabha elections | India News - Times of India

Shimla: Congress He seems to have further gambled away his future in Himachal Pradesh. Fielding Two of his 34 MLAs I Lok Sabha Elections Despite already being a shortfall in the majority Assembly. The equation has been difficult for the Congress since the disqualification of six MLAs who cross-voted in the Rajya Sabha elections last February.
PWD Minister and Shimla (Rural) MLA Vikramaditya Singh has been nominated to contest the Mandi seat, while Kasoli MLA Vinod Sultanpuri is a candidate from Shimla.
This is not the first time that the Congress has sent a sitting MLA to contest a Lok Sabha contest in the Himalayan state.
In 2019, the strategy backfired when the party fielded sitting MLAs in three of the state’s four LS seats, and all of them lost – Dhaniram Shindel in Shimla, Pawan Kajal in Kangra, and Hamir. Ram Lal Thakur in Pur.
A similar thing happened in 2014, when the Congress fielded two sitting MLAs for Parliament. Rohru MLA Mohanlal Barkata lost to Virendra Kashyap in Shimla, while Sujanpur MLA Rajinder Rana was defeated by BJP’s Anurag Thakur in Hamirpur.
If the Congress is third time lucky, another round of by-elections will be needed to fill the Assembly vacancies, including the seats of three independent MLAs whose resignations await the Speaker’s approval.
The MLAs who were earlier disqualified will go to polls on June 1 along with the state’s Lok Sabha seats in six seats.

India,India News,India news today.,Today’s news,Google News,Latest news,Shimla,MLAs,Lok Sabha Elections,Himachal Pradesh,Fielding,Congress,Assembly

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.